CQ…Clark Here

Thoughts and opinions. LOTS of opinions.

Normal’s lookin’ pretty good to me.

Have you ever been so low, or so burdened with life that as the saying goes, you “have to look up to see bottom?”  I’m not talking about some sort of manic-depressive situation, I’m talking about the normal cares of life, or perhaps some specific point in time that things are just particularly difficult.  I haven’t done a scientific survey, but I suspect that most people have had several such times in their life.  I know I have.

This past weekend has been one of those times for me.  Starting on Friday and continuing through Monday was no fun at all.  Issue after issue, problem after problem, my “difficulty cup” was pretty full.  Tuesday (yesterday), however, was a change-up.  It turned out to be a pretty good day.  I was productive at work, I felt pretty good, no new problems materialized that couldn’t be handled.  All in all it was what I would characterize as a normal day, a “regular” day.  The interesting part is that I was so jazzed that one of my co-workers asked me if I was on speed.  Nope, just feel great.

It reminded me of Ebenezer Scrooge when he woke up to find that his experience with the Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come had not actually happened; he was still in the present and had the opportunity to change.  I quote him here:

“I don’t know what to do!” cried Scrooge, laughing and crying in the same breath; and making a perfect Laocoön of himself with his stockings. “I am as light as a feather, I am as happy as an angel, I am as merry as a school-boy. I am as giddy as a drunken man. A merry Christmas to every-body! A happy New Year to all the world! Hallo here! Whoop! Hallo!”

I don’t think that Scrooge was an extraordinary man at this point in his life, I think he was what he was supposed to be all along.  And in Dickens’ story, Scrooge lived this way the rest of his life.

What a gift that is, to live life as one is supposed to.  Joyful, generous, in love with life.  I doubt that anyone can actually live their entire life without some sort of pain, some sort of difficulty.  Maybe Scrooge’s feelings are God’s gift for making it through those times.  Maybe that’s the reward for depending on Him through the attacks, through the rough patches.  All I know is that yesterday was a great day.  Thanks, God!  “I am as light as a feather, I am as happy as an angel, I am as merry as a school-boy. I am as giddy as a drunken man. A merry Christmas to every-body! A happy New Year to all the world! Hallo here! Whoop! Hallo!”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

