CQ…Clark Here

Thoughts and opinions. LOTS of opinions.

Oh, I cannot wait!

Last year, Beth and I “discovered” Black Bear Cabins in Cook Forest.  On our first trip there I was somewhat filled with concern and consternation.  When I think of a cabin in the “big woods,” I think of moss on the roof, musty on the inside, perhaps a bit, uh, “unkempt.” Nasty fireplace, bugs, and maybe rodents.  I’d rather sleep in a tent.

However, what a great surprise!  The cabins are clean, heated, small kitchen, and in great condition.  Our weekend was really relaxed.  Quiet, beautiful setting in the woods, we loved it.  We determined to not let that be the last time there.

So, through the spring and part of summer, we decided to make another reservation in the fall.  We did, and we were really looking forward to the trip.  My mother became ill just about the time we were to go, and we had to postpone the trip.  The management was kind enough to allow us to just pick another weekend.

And that’s this weekend!!  Oh, man, the anticipation.  No phones, no computer, just Beth and me, reading, relaxing, maybe watching a movie, but mostly just hanging out.  We packed a couple of books, some magazines, and a couple games.  And of course, I cannot leave my most excellend cigars behind, either.  I wouldn’t rule out a walk in the woods, either.

Just a bit more about Black Bear Cabins.  They’re located just outside Cooksville, PA, near Cook Forest State Park.  They’re open all year, and reservations can be made with a phone call.  They are now associated with Gateway Lodge Bed and Breakfast, and reservations are made through Gateway Lodge.  Although I cannot personally vouch for Gateway Lodge, Their setting is also gorgeous, clean, and a fantastic setting.

 As much as I love scuba, I am looking forward to a weekend of “enforced sloth,” with maybe a walk or two included.  This is gonna be great!

Check out Black Bear Cabins at: http://blackbearcabins.com/ (disclaimer:  I borrowed the above photos from their website).  Check ’em out.  I highly recommend this spot! 

You know, as I read this over, it sounds like a paid endorsement.  I wish!  I am raving about Black Bear because I love it that much.  And we will be there soon.  Just not soon enough!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Oh, I cannot wait!

  1. That sounds like an awesome and relaxing place!! 🙂 Quaint too! 🙂

  2. Simply want to say your article is as surprising. The clearness in your post is just cool and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  3. Of course. I would be pleased for you to receive posts via RSS. Thank you for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

